It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world health care system has been facing an enormous pressure due to frequent outbreaks of diseases. It is argued that the state should increase their spending on raising the citizens’ awareness of a healthy way of living rather on providing timely treatments when the diseases have occurred.

Without question, “prevention is better than cure”, therefore government should have policies in making its people adopt a healthy lifestyle. Through national and local awareness enhancement campaigns, people can be better informed of potential health risks associated with their bad habits. For example, instead of consuming too much fast food on a daily basis, teenagers or busy workers will therefore choose more nutritious foods or try to cook by themselves, which can prevent the high incidence of obesity, diabetes and other fatal diseases.

In addition to their long-term positive effects on people’s frame of mind, such campaigns are cost-effective. What needed is budget on conveying messages on the mass media like television, newspapers or conducting various workshops to share advice and experience to the public. By contrast, the medical treatment fees for a single patient with cancer disease like liver or lung cancer can amount to dozens of millions or billions, meaning a huge financial burden to the state and the family.

However, government cannot ignore its obligation in improving their medical system as well as assisting the already ill patients to cover their medical fees. The hospital fees are so expensive in some countries that only the rich can afford, so government’s role in offering aid for treatment of the sick is a moral duty. As well as this, constructing more hospitals and buying modern equipment should also be put into consideration as it is more effective in the short run.

In conclusion, raising the level of public awareness is more important, but government cannot neglect its concern on the supply of medical treatment for those currently being ill.