It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, there has been an alarming trend of allocating tax money for the promotion of a healthier lifestyle instead of treatments for sick people. Personally, I disagree with this viewpoint because countless people are hospitalized due to their genetic defects and a large section of society can not afford to adopt a healthier lifestyle.

On the one hand, if more people lead healthier lifestyles, fewer people will be sick in the first place due to lifestyle-related factors. For example, plenty of teenagers insouciantly eat fast food and consume sugary drinks on a regular basis because of their tastiness, even though these dietary choices are associated with higher risks of obesity and diabetes. If these people are made aware of the consequences involved, they may switch to more salubrious options. Therefore, it is indeed important to educate people about what constitutes a healthy lifestyle to boost their well-being.

On the other hand, there is a certain group of people who do not have the ability to bear treatment expenses, especially the cost of drugs, which are increasingly high these days. Hence, patients are not likely to pay by themselves and need governmental support instead. For instance, a large number of residents in the United States are about to be in debt for the medical care that they received after contracting COVID-19. In addition to that, the government's main mission is to take care of taxpayers and provide social services including healthcare instead of spending it on profitable purposes.

In conclusion, in spite of relatively minor benefits, promoting a healthier way of life among the general public is not of paramount importance more than treating sick people properly. Governments should take resolute actions to regulate this situation and mtigate implicit risks for the community.