In some countries young people have become richer healthier and live longer but they are less happy What are the causes What can be done to address this situation

Nowadays, teenagers are having a longer life and better health than before thanks to developments in medical technology and health care systems, among many other factors. Although the youth may benefit from this, it is widely believed that they are not necessarily happier despite all the material possessions that they have. In this essay, I would argue that there is one principal reason and propose some solutions to tackle this situation.

To begin with, the influence of commercial advertising is at the root of the dissatisfaction of today's youngsters. Indeed, the advertisements presented on websites or social networking sites can come in various forms including infographics and animated videos that enhance the curiosity and attraction of the products provided. Teenagers are swayed by advertisements to possess more and more things which, they are told, will bring them happiness, such as toys, a McDonald's burger, or the latest fashions. However, all this personal consumption has failed to bring happiness, and the false promises have resulted in disillusionment among young people.

To address the underlying causes, I would propose two solutions. Firstly, governments must introduce restrictions on advertising, and it would be even more effective to impose a complete ban on all marketing. For example, some countries such as the United States and Australia have already taken steps to ban cigarette ads from television and radio, this would effectively block the potential bad influences from online networking sites. Secondly, national and local authorities should allocate resources to schools to provide opportunities for young people to participate actively in sports or to take up a musical instrument. This will bring much more happiness and social interactions into the lives of today's youth, rather than being passive individual consumers of everything.

In conclusion, by taking resolute actions to curb the activities of the marketing industry, governments could help young people to develop into happier citizens of the future.