Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school What are the reasons What could be done

Recently, there has been an alarming trend of students struggling to focus at school. This can be explained by the popularity of social media applications and rigid adherence to a traditional teaching approach, and I believe the resolute actions proposed in this essay offer potential improvements.

To begin with, the aforementioned problem has roots in two main factors. The first one is distractions from social networking applications. Facebook and Instagram, for instance, purposefully strive for consistent engagement through positive reinforcement by pushing real-time updates on friends or hot news that young users often find difficult to ignore during lessons. Another sound explanation is the monotony of classrooms. Many lectures lack relevance to real life, endorsing a repetitive course of tedious theoretical assignments and lectures while failing to motivate the students with varied content.

To address the underlying causes, I would propose two solutions. Firstly, schools should impose a complete ban on portable devices in classrooms. All personal handsets could be stored in a secure room, labeled properly to be returned to their owners after class ends. This would effectively block the stream of potential distractions from online networking sites. Secondly, educators should redesign lecture content to be more practical. For example, law schools could set up some mock trials to stimulate students' actual courtroom experience and also make them understand the importance of practice and preparation for a case. Once engaged, these students will be more likely to focus more fully on their studies, ensuring higher chances of success after graduation.

In conclusion, a great number of students nowadays pay little attention at school due to the advent of social media platforms and lessons largely irrelevant to their needs. However, if schools adopt handset-free classroom policies and modernize the curriculum, students will become more attentive.