it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion what sort of punishment should parents and t

Nowadays, opinions are divided on whether children should learn to differentiate between what actions are acceptable and inappropriate. Some suggest that punishing some of the bad behaviors helps them learn this at an early age. However, I believe that this is a poor idea and will suggest some non-physical ways for parents and teachers to educate children.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some parents take advantage of punishments to teach children the distinction between right and wrong. This is believed to prevent them from doing wrong things at times such as making a mess and breaking household items, hence gradually form an ideology about what to do or not to do. As a matter of fact, if simply spanking them as a form of punishment for those negligible mistakes, they are less likely to listen to their parents and agree to correct their faults In the long term, they may keep repeating those same mistakes in the future, which defeats the intended purpose of punishment.

On the other hand, if done properly, there are some effective punishments for parents and teachers to implement. For example, instead of using corporal punishments, parents can tell their children to perform household chores for other family members. From doing so, not only do children realize the importance of cognitive skills, but also appreciate the value of personal responsibility and develop nurturing attributes for others. As for teachers, if a student bullies other students or even steals from others, they can prohibit them from playing with their classmates. The isolation from being alone and seeing other friends having fun together can help students understand that doing proper things will bring joy to their lives.

In conclusion, I am strictly against corporal punishments on children as they are ineffective. By introducing some lighter punishments suggested, parents and teachers can encourage children to learn from their mistakes and become model citizens in the future.