it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Recently, the phenomenon of how to learn the importance of life’s values to children and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, apart from various types of punishments which teachers and parents apply to children, the necessity of punishments during learning process of children must be debated. In my view, the negative effects of punishments on children to learn right and wrong can be considered both psychologically and physically. However, we shouldn’t lose sight of positive sides.

Obviously, applying different kinds of punishments on children during teaching to be a polite child have enormous psychological impacts. For example, depriving children from watching their favorite cartoons because of impoliteness may lead to show aggressive behaviors. In addition, a number of parents are of the opinion that saying “I don’t love you anymore” to children is an appropriate way to punish their children, while this sentence causes tremendous devastations in children’s emotions.

Moreover, some teachers and parents allow themselves to use corporal punishments against children. Generally speaking, use of physical punishments in process of children’s education are forbidden in the most countries around the world and leads to legal actions against those parents and teachers. Consequently, using corporal punishments on early age children end up to physical incidents such as broken bones and hearing problems.

On the other hand, other scientists suggest using punishments as the lack of rewards has remarkable advantages to train children distinguishing between concepts of right and wrong. Providing incentives, for example, assertion of encouraging words, donating tiny toys, and allowing children to play for a while is the best way to improve their behaviors. In general, teachers need to be aware of abilities of young children and decline their expectations from early age youths to the level children’s conception about such terms as right, wrong, and politeness.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on this matter, I opt to support the idea that learning the difference between truth and lie to children through punishments is completely unacceptable. Thus, what is your reaction if you witness punishment of your children?