It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Extinction is usually seen as an inevitable natural event for a certain species; therefore, to some people, it is of no use preserving endangered species. However, I disagree with the statement, and this essay will explain the role of humanity in this destructive process.

To begin with, humans are responsible for the significant numerical decrease of certain animals. Industrial activities and deforestation often underlie habitat loss, which then leads to disappearance of local species. Additionally, it is residential chemicals that contaminates water cycle to be essential for wild animals living nearby. Meanwhile, some have been pushed to the edge of extinction due to poaching. Take the rhino as an example, in the last one hundred years, hunters killed these animals illegally in search of their expensive horns, making their total number reduced sharply, or even a biological extinction (in which one kind cannot produce new offspring) for the white rhinos. Although human did not entirely cause extinction, we accelerated it. Therefore, the human must take the duty to preserve the alive species.

Besides, wildlife preservation has positive effect to natural environment. Firstly, if several species disappeared, the food chain would be severely afflicted. This can result in considerable decrease in food output among rural communities. For instance, in China, farmers used to kill millions birds that had eaten their crops. However, this allowed pest and insects to grow up freely, which then finally led to famine in a wide scale. It is apparent that biodiversity is connected to residential activities. Accordingly, protections are sorely needed.

In conclusion, I believe humans have to prevent extinction at any scale, because it is not only responsible but also the way to protect the human race in the long run. Instead of treating preservation as an atonement, individuals and establishments should take it as a mutual mission.