It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, both scientists and tourists are able to pay a visit to remote uncultivated environments, such as the South Pole. Although this trend has several merits, I believe that its negative influences are more glaring.

On the one hand, the ability to travel to distant regions offers considerable benefits. When it comes to scientific expeditions, scientists can collect specimens, observe and record natural phenomenons in these regions. Therefore, they can, perhaps, find ways to cope with one of the most severe environmental issues, which is global warming. Moreover, as the tourism of remote untamed areas is expanding and becoming more prevalent, many people will have chances to come and explore new places. The discovery of new areas allows tourists to gain a better understanding of the Earth and brand new species. This could assist them to raise awareness of conserving and protecting the environment and thus have positive actions towards environmental problems.

However, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages pale in comparison with the significant downsides of visiting untamed environments.

It goes without saying that the arrival of humans will pose a threat to the wildlife in those areas. In fact, to meet the need of tourists and travelers, hotels and other accommodations are built on the land where native animals and plants inhabit, hence pollute natural habitats and destroy them. For example, irresponsible littering can contaminate water and threaten the lives of aquatic creatures. Furthermore, the presence of foreign visitors in these places could possibly put pressure on indigenous people’s life by constructing tourism facilities, which can drive out the indigenous and weaken the identity of local culture.

In conclusion, while there is no doubt that traveling to distant isolated regions can benefit us humans in various ways, I am of the opinion that this trend is detrimental as it can be a potential threat to the remote natural environments.