Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, teaching English for students has been considered as more crucial than teaching them their mother tongue. In my opinion, although English is a global language, it is not vital for everyone to learn it. Learning the local language should not be replaced by learning English to ensure that local languages do not become extinct.

On the one hand, even though English is an international language and is spoken by the biggest number of population, it is not crucial for all people in a community to learn to speak in English. English is a language which is studied by people to facilitate the communication during a period of study, work, or travelling to overcome the language barrier. If the person is in a situation that does not need such communication, it may not be necessary for them to learn an extra language.

On the other hand, I believe that the priority should be given to learning of local languages to ascertain their survival. This is how we can preserve cultures connected to these languages. This can be done through different measures. For example, schools should make it mandatory for students to learn their mother tongue language, and make English, or any other language, as a second one not the first language. Furthermore, schools could teach students the main subjects, for instance, mathematics, history, and science, in the local language. This can greatly boost the efficiency of students in terms of their local language.

In conclusion, although English is a pivotal language, I am convinced that it is only a language, which should be learned in case that the person needs it. Instead, schools should encourage their students to learn their local languages through the aforementioned methods to try to keep local cultures from extinction.