Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local

Proficiency in English is seen as a key skill to excel in today's world. While English allows the global economy and culture to thrive, different heritages do have sentimental and historical value.

English connects the world since it is the most widely spoken; hence schools may not be wrong to emphasize on it. After all, schools are obligated to prepare students for the academic and professional world. Moreover, the majority of higher studies are in English in various countries, including my own: India. Most of the world's literature and communication (such as emails) is also predominantly conducted in English. This has benefits too - without knowing Spanish, I can read Pablo Neruda's poetry translated in a common language.

If that tells us one thing, it is that we can embrace diversity while having a more developed society. A part of that diversity is local literature that schools are not teaching and folk songs which students never interpret. Being proud of one's heritage is difficult if people don't know or appreciate their local languages, all this in turn has the fear of causing rootlessness.

Schools may have to focus on English, but regional languages can be spoken at home. My parents encouraged me to speak Hindi, which is why I can relate with people in Indian villages as well as characters of American sitcoms.

Ultimately, I think local languages help us find communities and pinpoint where we are in the larger timeline of our families, countries, and the world. Thus, I strongly believe that we should take pride in our heritage and languages and do our best to preserve them.