Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn english? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, why?

Language provides a channel between people to communicate with each other to express their views, emotions and enable a conversation. English is the most widely spoken language across the globe. Due to its growing prominence in the society children at school are encouraged to learn english language as their course subject while the colloquial languages are of an optional which pose a threat to their existence.

There is a commonly held belief among most of the people that learning english contributes to the comprehensive development of an individual. Therefore, people want their offsprings to enrich their knowledge in english at an early age to shape their thoughts and widen their horizon. English provides a gateway for the youngsters as well as adults to the outside world communication and to impress more opportunities in their career. The trading and marketing industry benefits from english as people communicate with the same language medium. Moreover, company employers hire candidates with good english communication skills.

Upon enlightening the significance of existence of colloquial languages. The elevation in english learners is dramatic in educational institutions which has caused massive degradation in the interest among children for native languages. The native languages represent culture and regionalism of an individual. Many languages including english have originated from the pre-existing languages. The ancient manuscript and other religious books have been written in native languages which hold a tremendous amount of valuable knowledge. The youth today is not acquainted with the value of native languages and their contribution to the nation despite they learn english language and most of them adopt the western culture and lifestyle.

I believe that though english language eliminate the language barrier which creates the disintegration in communication among people of different cultures yet the importance of colloquial languages should not be neglected. To sum up, english and local languages should be made core subjects in schools. As youth are the pillar holders of nation tomorrow they should understand and ensure the survival of native languages.