Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Language education right now is believed to focus primarily on English but forget the mother tongue. If this tendency continues, local languages will definitely disappear. Personally, I feel that the aforementioned languages have the same role and it is essential to learn English because of its various benefits. Besides, we need to preserve local languages and there are some measures that could be taken.

First of all, it is clear that English is becoming the universal language at present. As a result of globalization, international trade creates numerous businesses and job opportunities, which requires businessmen to speak English to work with counterparts all over the world. Secondly, learning English also improves the operation of the brain. To clarify, scientific research has shown that multilingual individuals tend to be more active and remember working tasks more effectively if being compared with monolingual ones. Finally, if a person speaks English, he would have a chance to work for multinational companies and receive a high salary, as well as gaining more knowledge of his field since a great number of reference materials are written in English.

Although English brings some major advantages, the mother tongue is crucial as well. The worth mentioning here is that a local language is a part of the culture and sovereignty of a country, it links a community with its past and heritage. If this language is forgotten, there will be more possibilities for that country to lose its origins. Another factor is that the mother tongue is a connection among people in a nation. If they stop speaking their local language, they will lose a part of themselves, thereby creating conflicts and leading to the civil war at the end.

Hence, to limit the disappearance that might happen with local languages, there are several solutions that can be adopted. Firstly, schools must balance the time for English lessons and that for the learning period of the mother tongue to make sure that students could learn both in an equal way. Additionally, parents have to explain specifically for their children about the reason why youngsters must learn English and the local language at the same time. Finally, to help poor families to study languages, governments should invest extra funds in educational organizations in order for them to organize a myriad of classes and courses to provide local language lessons.

In conclusion, both English and local languages are equally important. My firm conviction is that learning English is necessary as well as keeping local languages alive. Therefore, we should concentrate on developing both English and the mother tongue in equal measure.