What are the causes and effects of poverty?

Currently, poverty is certainly a topical issue as so many nations are seeing this pattern. From my perspective, there are two main causes and two key impacts, which I will outline now.

First of all, the main cause is probably a lack of education. For example, in Latin America and elsewhere, it is often seen that many needy families are reluctant to send their children to school but cause them to take different paid jobs to improve the present living conditions. However, only attending institutions and classes can help the young generation to lead a better life, thereby opening the door to jobs and other skills that a family needs to thrive.

The other factor that brings about the situation is the spread of fatal diseases. Take COVID-19 as an example. Due to it, all businesses close, the stock market goes down and organizations stop carrying on trading, leading to the increase in death tolls in low and middle-income countries, longer shutdowns, and exorbitant economic costs of the pandemic.

Therefore, the effects of poverty can be quite devastating. For one thing, it would affect the well-being of individuals since they do not gain access to consume fine food, housing, sanitation and health care. Consequently, the young generation could be born at low birth weight and families struggle with hunger and insecurity. The other adverse consequence is the rise in crime rates. Owing to a long period of poverty, high levels of stress can occur and may induce people to commit theft, robbery or other violent acts. Hence, a nation would be in a chaotic status, damaging to the fabric of society such as increasing the probability of youngsters spending time on the street associating with gangs.

In conclusion, the causes of this phenomenon are primarily to do with the lack of education and the outbreak of deadly diseases; the effects involve the comfort life and the safety of the public. Thus, it is recommended that policymakers should adopt policies to support vulnerable households in terms of finance and encourage them to let their children receive a proper education. The other remedy is that governments could invest more in rural areas like building additional schools, hospitals and roads so that the community there can reach a decent living standard.