Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Currently, the occurrence of youngsters preferring to engage in online conversation rather than meeting up in person is a topical issue as so many nations are seeing this pattern. This essay will analyze the major cause and propose a possible solution to this situation.

First of all, the foremost reason making young adults preferred to socialize online is the explosive growth of social media. One possible explanation for this is that with the advent of technology, social networking sites such as Facebook and Instagram are beginning to take over person-to-person interaction. In other words, owing to the instant access to the Internet everywhere and at any time with a smartphone, social networks enable them to keep in touch with faraway friends more effortlessly via messaging, calling or even seeing each other’s faces on the screen. A recent report published by the Science and Society magazine in Vietnam points out that nearly 40% of teenagers in Vietnam opts to make video calls on Facebook instead of spending time with their friend outdoors. With all this taken into account, social networking sites are the factor creating a cyberspace for the young generation to interact.

This problem, however, can be effectively tackled by education. As for parents, they should instill a sense of being sociable into their children by encouraging them to invite friends to come over, thereby forming a social connection among them and resulting in allotting more time to meet face-to-face. As for schools, team building activities and field trips should be incorporated more in the curriculum in order for students to enjoy the feeling of companionship, fostering the tendency to let that cheerful atmosphere happen again by meeting in person more. A recent survey data from the Health and Life magazine suggests that teenagers who often involve in outdoor activities with their friends at schools incline towards reducing the time spending on social online platforms. That is why I agree that education is an effective solution to this issue.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the rapid development of social networks causes young people to prefer interacting online to having meetings in real life. People, nevertheless, can lessen this problem through education. Although it is unlikely to be eliminated in the short term, there are concrete steps to reduce the effects it is having on the current society.