Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts hold a view that children in primary school are more suitable to start to learn a new language than those in secondary school. From my perspective, I agree with this viewpoint, for it will bring substantial benefits for children because of their age and their brain.

First of all, children from six to ten years old do not feel difficult to absorb the new language since this is an ideal period for them. To clarify, students in primary school just learn basic skills such as drawing, counting and writing, whereas those in secondary school have to deal with a myriad of compulsory subjects that put more stress on them like math, chemistry and physics. Therefore, beginning to learn new languages is favourable for primary students owing to their free mind. While secondary ones have to store much information about their subjects at school and their lessons at extra classes, pupils in the primary level tend to be carefree about their life, leading to effortlessly acquire the language.

Besides their age, the brain of children in primary school facilitates the language learning process. Research shows that theirs works more effectively to store information than that of adults. For example, a nine-year-old student can remember a long list of new words in just one hour. Moreover, during this time, the brain could be stimulated to learn languages quicker through imitating and engaging in recreational activities. According to a survey, 70% of children can learn another language by watching movies or listening to music.

To sum up, age and brain are the two key factors helping students in primary school have greater advantages to efficiently begin learning a foreign language than those in secondary school. Therefore, parents should let children study new languages at an early age so that they can develop their language skills in an effective way.