Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports.

Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Currently, playing games on computers is the most common activity on which the youth always spends more time than on outdoor activities. I believe there are three main reasons for this occurrence and in my view, this tendency definitely brings back three main disadvantages, which I will discuss now.

As for the causes, the main idea is that playing video games is simple and convenient. To illustrate, kids do not need to leave their home or prepare any sophisticated equipment like doing sports, or they can play at any time despite the appalling weather. Moreover, parents tend to have a more hectic life now, so they just have limited time to spend and take care of their children. Therefore, allowing them to play video games at home is a way for adults to let their kids unwind without them. Finally, youngsters can also be influenced by their friends or attractive game advertisements that persuade them to allow time for this type of recreation. Online games to play with their classmates just by sitting down at home and colorful game commercials are factors that make children opt for computer games instead of doing outdoor activities.

Another point I want to cover is that there are some negatives to this situation. Firstly, when teenagers take too much time to play computer-based games, they will have a sedentary lifestyle. In other words, they are likely to stay at home al the time, be passive and lazy, which can cause health diseases such as short-sighted or obesity. Additionally, using too much time for this activity will lead to crime. Statistics have shown that juvenile crime rates are rising significantly these days. For one particular case relating to video games, when they do not have enough money to purchase for new games, stealing money from people, even in their family, is the easiest way for them to serve their purpose since they have not had a job yet. Finally, if youngsters play video games too much, it will create a boundary between family members. For example, they just spend all their time playing it, so not having enough time to share stories or talk with their parents, or even forget them will occur, which will destroy the relationship among generations in the house.

In conclusion, I do not deny that playing video games is one exciting way to relax, but due to its causes and drawbacks, parents should balance their work and life to spend more time with their kids and explain the detrimental effects of it if their children play too often.