Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Children in the contemporary society play more computer games than sports due to technology advancement and changes in lifestyle. In my perspective, it is a negative development that will bring long-term harm to the children and the society in the future.

There are several reasons why children spend a large amount of time on computer games. Firstly, many of parents who are very familiar with computer games, make use of computer games to buy time away from their children. For example, some parents use video games as a reward when their children behave well and when the kids are busy with the games, the parents can rest by themselves. Secondly, there are some children who love sports, either indoor or outdoor, but some parents will not let them play. These parents are against the idea of their kids getting sick because it means they will have to take time off work and spend money to take kids to the doctor.

This development is negative in many ways. First, there is a rapid increase in overweight and obese children. The lack of physical activities leads to slow reflex, low stamina and metabolism. Second, spending too much time on digital devices takes away children’s time to play with their peers. The lack of social interactions causes lack of social awareness, incapability to communicate in person, and in severe cases it can lead to the lack of empathy.

In conclusion, playing computer games too much is detrimental to children. By balancing the time of playing games and engaging in outdoor sports, children will enhance both their physical and mental development.