The divorce rate is increasing. What are the causes and solutions?

Currently, the rise in the divorce rate is a topical issue as so many nations are seeing this pattern. From my perspective, there are two main causes and a great number of solutions that we can take.

First of all, the main cause is probably the occurrence of inequality in the house. According to statistics, 50% of women in Vietnam still suffer from being assaulted by their spouse for not doing household chores and cooking. Moreover, others say that they lack freedom since they are forced to follow the rules of their husband. For example, if they want to go out with their friends, they have to ask for permission before leaving.

The other factor that brings about the situation is the deprivation of compassion in marriage. For instance, some couples seem not to agree on reaching decisions, or when they have quarrels, the other person does not feel the need to make an apology. Gradually, this leads to divorce, when individuals cannot stand having controversies every day.

However, there are various measures that can be adopted to lessen the problem. Firstly, it is recommended that policymakers should create ways to reserve the rights of women such as setting up a national hotline for them to contact if they are being abused. Besides, before getting married, couples should be introduced to pre-marriage courses to acquire knowledge and prepare for a long-lasting relationship with their partner. Finally, in their daily life, husbands and wives should put in more effort to promote intimacy in the relationship by sharing housework, spending quality time with each other and opting for discussions instead of arguing aggressively.

In conclusion, the causes of this phenomenon are primarily to do with the lack of equality and empathy during marriage life; the viable solutions involve the actions of governments and everyone can carry out to change the occurrence. If this trend continues, it will result in being afraid of entering into marriage among young generations.