The divorce rate is increasing. What are the causes and effects?

Currently, the rise in the divorce rate is a topical issue as so many nations are seeing this pattern. From my perspective, there are two main causes and two key impacts, which I will outline now.

First of all, the main cause is probably the occurrence of inequality in the house. According to statistics, 50% of women in Vietnam still suffer from being assaulted by their spouse for not doing household chores and cooking. Moreover, others say that they lack freedom since they are forced to follow the rules of their husband. For example, if they want to go out with their friends, they have to ask for permission before leaving.

The other factor that brings about the situation is the deprivation of compassion in marriage. For instance, some couples seem not to agree on reaching decisions, or when they have quarrels, the other person does not feel the need to make an apology. Gradually, this leads to divorce, when individuals cannot stand having controversies every day.

Therefore, the effects of increased divorce rates can be quite devastating. For one thing, depression among children is inevitable. To witness their parents living apart, they would be lonely due to not feeling the love of them or being in a close-knit family. The other point I would like to mention is the adverse consequence on the economy of a nation. Some individuals, after divorcing, are afraid of establishing a romantic relationship again, so they remain single forever. Consequently, there would be more and more elderly people, resulting in a lack of a qualified workforce to contribute to economic development. If a country wants to boost production and compete with others, it must have a young labour force with excellent health and a brilliant mind to cope with the excessive workload.

In conclusion, the causes of this phenomenon are primarily to do with the lack of equality and empathy during marriage life; the effects involve the potential mental damage to the young generation and economic stagnation. Hence, it is recommended that policymakers should create ways to reserve the rights of women such as setting up a national hotline for them to contact if they are being abused. The other remedy is that before getting married, couples should be introduced to pre-marriage courses to acquire knowledge and prepare for a long-lasting relationship with their partner.