Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day.

Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that working at home rather than commuting to a workplace on a daily basis would be more effective for workers. In my view, there are both advantages and disadvantages to this working type, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, home working can bring numerous benefits. Firstly, this type of working is convenient since people do not have to get up early to prepare and travel to work on time before rush hour. Secondly, it can limit some risks that they may face and save themselves on the way to work, such as car accidents or being robbed by thieves. Finally, working from home is useful for some emergency cases. Take the coronavirus outbreak as an example. To limit the rapid spread of the pandemic, the public is required to stay at home; hence, home working will make sure that individuals still have a stable income for surviving during the difficult time.

On the other hand, teleworking would definitely cause major difficulties for humans. The worth mentioning here is that poor Internet connection can ruin the career of a person. To clarify, due to the unstable connection, the important meeting between an employee and the counterpart of his company cannot occur, so the important contract cannot be signed, leading to that person may be fired. Besides, this is a favorable opportunity for cybercriminals to act, who will steal data of the association and use it for illegal purposes such as selling to other corporations or publicizing on social media to demand a ransom. Finally, telecommuting is problematic for managers to supervise their workforce. For instance, if their staff teleworks, the work progress cannot be checked, for employers would not know how the job was done or whether their employees have somebody handle the workload for them.

In conclusion, working at home has some merits and demerits. Therefore, everyone should consider the different aspects of this type of working before applying it to their life.