To succeed in a business, one needs to know maths.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is suggested that in order to be successful in business, a person has to possess the ability to learn mathematics excellently. In my opinion, I disagree with this view, for there are other major factors determining the success of a business that an individual should have, which I will outline now.

First of all, we must consider the main factor is leadership. Organizations that take the lead to compete with others are guided by outstanding leaders. These people who are charming and persuasive could easily inspire the employees and gather their beliefs. If one lacks these characteristics, it is difficult for him to manage his people and the company hardly establishes a fine reputation on the market. For example, a boss who always reproaches his staff rather than motivating them to achieve would not earn respect from them. Therefore, the staff will not fulfill commands and always make mistakes when dealing with tasks. Whereas, a qualified boss is the one providing directions for a company and its workers, and it involves showing workers how to effectively perform their responsibilities and regularly supervising the completion of their tasks.

The other factor that influences the success of a business is a great vision. An individual needs to recognize the opportunities in the market to seize them and lead the company to the top. An example of this could be seen in Apple Company Incorporated. Many years ago, laptops were heavy and bulky, which caused difficulties for users to carry them whenever they travel. Understanding this, Steve Jobs and his company came up with MacBook Air, the laptop model that was super-light and compact which brought the company considerable sales and became the standard in designing laptops that other manufacturers follow until now.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that leadership and vision are the two key traits of a person in deciding the success of a business. Without these, a corporation will not move forward in the commercial race.