A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Society right now tends to evaluate people based on their social background or wealth. Therefore, positive hallmarks of human dignity like honour, kindness and trust are likely to be forgotten. Personally, I totally disagree with this statement because of the rationale following.

First of all, It is clear that old values are the key to modern people in judging anyone. To clarify, these standards are the core elements creating the character of a person so that they can assist individuals in evaluating others in a more specific way. For instance, to become an official employee in any company, the candidate must go through the interview round. The employer will assess not only the knowledge or the experiences the interviewee has but also his or her behaviour before making the final decision. Hence, old-fashioned values are still necessary.

Moreover, the richer a person is, it does not mean that the more respect he or she will gain. Take some celebrities as an example. They are really famous as well as always showing off their wealth. However, only a minority of people truly care about or admire them. In contrast, lots of individuals without any luxury possessions are still respected by others for their attitudes and their contributions to society. For example, a few teachers who just have above-average income but are always being praised by not only students but also parents because of their knowledge, their responsibility for teaching, their dedication and support. Thus, traditional values still exist and live there throughout time.

In conclusion, social status and material possessions do not show the true self of a person. Old-fashioned values still remain in society and they are the criteria to judge a person’s worth. I believe that the public should definitely think carefully and consider all aspects of a person prior to evaluating them.