(2) A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently, there is an increase in believing that an individual’s value can be evaluated by their social status and material possessions, whereas the good hallmarks of great dignity like honour, kindness and trust are no longer important. From my perspective, I do not agree with this point of view, for I believe that these characters are still essential to judge one’s worth and they are required be maintained in the society.

First of all, these characters are still essential to judge one’s worth. For example, celebrities are the people who have lots of fame and fortune, but they are still exposed by newspapers about their private life. Take a look at a famous pop star like Chris Brown. Although he is a successful singer, he was accused of hitting and abusing his girlfriend, Rihanna. Another example is Jackie Chan, who is a popular movie star, confessed to the public that he has been sleeping with many women during his marriage life. If everyone looks at a person with admiration for their work, property and popularity but overlook their character, they are praising the wrong one. Hence, it is crucial that old-fashioned values must be considered when judging one’s worth.

Another point I want to make is that the traditional values such as honour, kindness and trust are required to be maintained in the society. For instance, parents need to be a role model who have these traits to educate their children to become decent citizens. Moreover, every relationship is form based on these features, so everybody just cannot choose their friends according to how rich they are, or couples must have faith in their counterpart to lead a happy love life. In addition, people show generosity towards each other to make life more meaningful.

In conclusion, social status and material possessions do not show the true self of a person. Old-fashioned values including honour, kindness and trust are still important, for they are the criteria to judge a person’s worth and they need to be preserved for successive generations.