In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Currently, possessing a house rather than renting one is essential for people in some nations. From my perspective, there are two main causes and this trend has both positive and negative consequences in equal measure, which I will outline now.

First of all, the main cause is probably considerable freedom. Owning a home means a person can renovate it as he wants like a complete kitchen remodel or walls with his favorite colors. While renting a house, renters are not allowed to make any changes to the property. The other factor that brings about the situation is tax reduction. Buying a home is considered the most expensive and important purchase for everyone in their life. Hence, to encourage this practice, the policymaker in several countries has provided several tax breaks, including deductions in mortgage interest and real estate taxes, thereby offering financial benefits to the public.

One the one hand, homeownership brings a few advantages. For one thing, it is a long-term investment. As a result of the increasing house prices over time, individuals could sell their current house for a high value so that they would upgrade with another luxury one. Thus, they are investing in an asset for themselves. The other appealing aspect that homeowners have is stability. People, for example, are inclined to stay longer in a home that they have purchased, for it requires a real commitment to live at the place for numerous years. Therefore, moving frequently is unlikely.

On the other hand, homeownership also has certain disadvantages. Perhaps the real drawback is the maintenance cost. When problems such as broken pipes or air-conditioners occur, owners of the house need to call for a repairman to get things fixed, so it would cost more money. While renting a home, people just report to the landlord and the maintenance fee is included in the pay rent, which is more cost-effective. The other issue would be the lack of mobility. To illustrate, if a person is given an attractive job offer but it demands him to move to another city, it may be difficult to leave his current property. An opposite picture is evident in renting a residence. Since there is no obligation to the place people rent, they are more mobile to relocate their homes, leading to changing jobs more easily.

In conclusion, the causes of this phenomenon are primarily to do with the freedom to make changes and tax incentives. Besides, the situation creates both positives and negatives for the public to realize.