Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In the last ten decades, the world sometimes considers computers as one of the major developments, and I do completely agree with this point of view as it helps people connect with each other and offers some benefits to make life easier.

First of all, computers bring everyone together. With the explosive growth of the Internet, now people can use their computer to read online articles about world affairs, or long-distance communication, such as. At present, people can contact one another on social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter. This is especially useful for families that spread over a wider geographical area; if parents want to talk with their children studying abroad, they just turn on their computer, log in their Facebook and start to chat with them. If we look back on many years ago, we had to buy newspaper to catch up with the news and write letters to exchange information with our relatives, which was costly and time-consuming.

Another point I want to make is that computers can be a valuable tool to aid everybody with their tasks. For one thing, it can store our data and documents. Long time ago, our ancestors had a lot of shelves in the house to keep written materials, pictures and books. But now, computers with great capacity can store thousands of files and save space in our home. Moreover, a manufacturer like IBM has created a great number of supercomputers for NASA to calculate the complex formulas. Hence, scientists are able to draw up sound plans for astronauts to fly into space with modern spacecraft.

In conclusion, computers have been an important invention in human history. It not only functions as a form of communication but also has some utilities to please the contemporary world.