In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some nations are seeing a trend in the increase of young people are continuing to spend their life with parents after having finished education and had a job. From my perspective, this occurrence creates both positives and negatives in equal measure, which I will outline now.

Living with parents, on the one hand, is a great opportunity for young adults to cut down on their expenses. When they live alone, the living cost for daily life could be a big concern, causing them to work hard in order to earn livelihood and pay bills, food and necessities. Compared to this lifestyle, living under the same roof with blood relatives could cover these costs, thereby reducing the financial burden for young adults. The other advantage that going on to live with parents brings is a sense of relatedness. Living by themselves may sometimes make grown-ups feel lonely and isolated, not to mention the situations where they have to face problems in their life alone. This, however, could be avoided by living with more members in the house to share difficulties and ask for support during hardships, leading to a better state of well-being.

Alongside the aforementioned benefits, this way of living also exists some disadvantages. One of the most common ones would be the disagreements among generations. In other words, the generation gap is the factor oftentimes making young adults and their parents seem to misunderstanding each other. Due to having lived in different times, each generation will have distinct outlooks about a wide variety of life aspects such as career, style of living and marriage, resulting in arguments in the house between members. Together with this negative, lack of freedom often discourages young people when they choose to live with their parents. A real-life example could be witnessed in marriage life, when couples need to comply with the strictness and rules of parents in the house, leading to a controlled life that is possible to have a place for annoyance.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the phenomenon of living with parents after young generations have completed their education and found a job helps them cover expenses and lead a joyful life; the negative consequences of this lifestyle lie in the generation gap and little freedom. Therefore, a young person should take into account the merits when they opt for this lifestyle.