People nowadays do not recycle. What are the causes and effects of it?

Currently, the practice of not recycling is certainly a topical issue as so many nations are seeing this pattern. From my perspective, there are two main causes and two key impacts, which I will outline now.

First of all, the main cause is probably the inconvenience that people realize when recycling. For example, the recycling pick-up points are not effortlessly accessible from where they live, so homeowners have to walk or drive to these places, which is time-consuming. The other factor that brings about the situation is that the public believes that there is no point in recycling, for it makes no difference to the environment and has no immediate outcome. Gradually, the activity seems to be a low priority in their life, making them always forget to recycle.

Therefore, the effects of not recycling can be quite devastating. For one thing, it could create a detrimental impact on the environment. Due to the increasing amounts of garbage by just being thrown away, landfills are taking vast space and seas are strewn with litter. Consequently, trash will pile up and release tonnes of CO2 into the atmosphere, thereby forming the greenhouse effect and leading to global warming. The other adverse consequence that could occur is unemployment. To clarify, the recycling industry employs thousands of people, and if we do not recycle, those jobs will disappear, leaving a great number of individuals unemployed.

In conclusion, the causes of this phenomenon are primarily to do with the lack of places to recycle and the awareness of the public to recycling; the effects involve the damage to the environment and the employment. Hence, it is recommended that policymakers should initiate a curbside programme to improve the recycling rates of residents. For example, they could put more separate bins with a single image for a type of waste material on the pavements to make it simple to segregate. The other remedy is that governments can launch some campaigns to introduce the benefits of recycling through social media and television so that everyone could see the positive side of doing so.