Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A highly contentious issue today relates to whether computers are considered the major technological development. I totally agree with this opinion because they help people connect with each other and offer some benefits to make life easier.

The main reason why I believe computers are the most important invention is that they bring everyone closer. A logical reason to support this is that with the explosive growth of the Internet, people now can use their computers to read online articles about world affairs, thereby keeping themselves updated with the occurrence. Additionally, individuals can contact one another via social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, which is especially useful for families that spread over a wider geographical area. A recent surveyed data from the Science and Society magazine suggests that thanks to computers, families are able to keep connected despite living separately and it soothes the feeling of being in solitude. With all this taken into account, the creation of computers is of great importance.

Another reason why I support the notion that computers are cited to be the most significant accomplishment of mankind is that they can store vast amounts of information and reduce waste. One possible explanation for this is that computers are capable of containing massive amounts of data and documents. In other words, books, movies and pictures are stored digitally, leading to eliminating the need for paper used to make non-digital versions of the media. According to a recent report published in Environment magazine, the reduction in the rate of deforestation for paper has resulted in the regeneration of nearly 30% of the world's forests. That is why I agree that computers are no doubt to be the most essential invention.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that computers are the most impactful invention in human history because it not only functions as a form of communication but also a useful tool to protect the contemporary world. The truth is that, until now or in the future, people can see the more advancement of this technology.