Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the legitimate age for marriage is 21 and above. Personally, I totally agree with this statement because of the rationale following.

First of all, It is clear that people at 21 and over are recognized as mature. To explain, they are able to control their behaviour and have specific thinking in one issue. In other words, they can distinguish right from wrong, so making rational decisions about life will be more significant. Moreover, because it is possible for this age to apply for a full-time job with a stable income, people from 21 and above can themselves achieve financial freedom to take care of their family, such as providing basic necessities like food and drinks or education for their children and paying bills.

Additionally, when people get married before turning into 21, there are lots of problems that may happen with their life. For one thing, they could not have the experience that they should do during their youth. For example, children and adolescents need time to not only study but also have fun with their friends, which can help them widen their knowledge as well as enhance their communicative skills or cognitive development. If teenagers or children marry too soon, they must spend all of their time on taking care of their kids and dealing with chores; hence, they are likely to be depressed due to reaching adulthood hastily. The other reason is that youngsters might suffer from detrimental effects in terms of physical health. Take uterine rupture as an example. Scientific research has shown that if young people give birth at an early stage, it is unsafe for not only the mother because she can lose too much blood while doing so, but also the infant as he would die.

In conclusion, people should enter into marriage when they are at least 21 and above, for they are capable of having self-control, looking after themselves and avoiding potential risks happening with their well-being.