Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21 To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people agreed that marriage is a milestone and a sacred tradition between 2 adults joined together. However, there are many people who do not agree with the legal age for marriage that we currently uphold and I completely agree with the idea that we should raise the legal age of marriage to 21.

There are many benefits for raising the minimum age to get married. Firstly, young adults are still learning and experiencing life, they could explore their options and look for characteristics that fit for marriage. Such as responsibility and maturity which are the bedrock for marriage, partners who have both will be able to help you build a family and raise a child. In addition, they could minimize the divorce rate by understanding the personality and characteristics that they desired in marriage.

But many people are contend with the realistic approach in raising the legal age to 21. Modern generations are in a rush of getting married when they have not explored their options. In the age of technology, social media has glamorized married life which influenced many young adults to get married when they have not found a good candidate as their consort. In which, they will look for superficial characteristics that they find desirable such as physical attractiveness and sporting prowess, which could lead them to an unhappy marriage and possibly a divorce.

In conclusion, the current legal age for marriage can be beneficial by preventing adolescents from getting married too early but in my opinion, raising the minimum age for marriage can be beneficial for couples in the future.