Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime Others however argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

In the present age, some people think that there should be fixed sentences for each type of crime while others are of the opinion that the situations of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when inflicting the punishment. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and outline my opinion.

On the one hand, there are some good arguments for having one set punishment for each crime. First of all, it would be easy to utilize a standardized punishment on certain crimes. Simultaneously, the awareness of urban dwellers about convicted crime might be increased. For example, in Singapore, if you throw rubbish or smoke in a restricted area, you will have to pay three thousand dollars for a severe fine. For that unchangeable punishment, citizens of Singapore might be aware of illegal actions and that could lead to decrease in crimes.

On the other hand, I would argue that the situations of a crime and the criminal’s motivation should have an influence on the punishment. It is obvious to say that criminals should clarify their initial motives before giving them sentences. For example, a harsh punishment should be given to a murderer; otherwise, those who killed people in the act of self-defense, the verdict they received should be lenient.

In conclusion, there are some advantages of fixed punishments. Nevertheless, I maintain my original position that each of various crimes should be given appropriate punishments only based on their situations and impulse. By that, the ones who deserve a second chance would receive a deserving sentence.