More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life but city life can be extremely difficult Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city How can governments make urban life better for everyone

It is true that many rural citizens are moving to the metropolis to improve their lives and job prospects, but there are several drawbacks for a city life. In my opinion, government could do much more to improve the life of city inhabitants.

The main problem for anyone who wants to live in the city is the cost of living. Compare to rural areas, urban areas have higher cost of living for transport , housing and even food. Another issue is that job search can be competitive compares to bucolic areas since metropolis tend to attract many talent workers. Furtherore, the air quality in the city is often poor, due to pollution from traffic, and the streets and city transport systems are usually crowded. As a result, city life can be unhealthy and stressful.

However, there are various steps that governments could take to mitigate these problems. Firstly, they could invest money in building of affordable and social housing to reduce the cost of living. Secondly, politicians and authorities have the power to ban vehicles that could exhaust gas excessively and promote the use of cleaner public transport, which would help reduce both air pollution and traffic congestion. In Vietnam, for instance, the introduction of a congestion charge could helped curb the traffic problems. Finally, they could help develop provincial towns and rural areas, by moving industry and jobs to those regions, in order to reduce the pressure on major cities.

In conclusion, governments could certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the quality of life for all city residents.