Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that nowadays, the lifespan of humans lasts longer if being compared to the past, therefore the retirement age should be higher than it used to be. Personally, I totally agree with this statement because of the rationale following.

First of all, the worth mentioning here is that the change in the old regulation will be a benefit to people who have difficulties. To be more specific, the pension in some countries, mainly in developing ones, is not enough for them to get by when they retire, especially those who have not paid off their mortgages or they are still supporting their children. Hence, working is the only way to handle the problem and have a better life. Take Viet Nam as an example, for the manual labour, the pension is just about 1 million Vietnam dong, which can only be used for the basic demands such as food and drink, but not assist them to pay any debts if they have.

Moreover, the increase in the retirement age is an effective method since this change is able to limit crime rates. If people retire too early and the money subsidized by governments is not enough for their life, crimes will definitely appear. To illustrate, currently, some elders are being used for taking money from the public by criminals. The bad guys cause them to disguise themselves into the homeless and ask for cash at public places such as the park, the gas station and the bus stop. At the end of the day, the elderly will come back to the lair to give money to the thugs. Consequently, old people, which is sometimes considered the wisest members of the community, are being abused. So, the retirement age should be raised in order for them to contribute their intelligence and expertise to society while they are still working. As a result, criminal cases would decline and the fabric of society would be stabilized.

In conclusion, to reduce the risk of crimes and create a better life for individuals, policymakers should raise the age of retirement due to the longer lifespan of them.