Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees that this is beneficial.

To what extent is globalization a positive or negative development?

Some people argue that globalization just creates many drawbacks that impact adversely on humans. Personally, I do not follow this idea because of the rationale following.

First of all, the worth mentioning here is that this is a favorable opportunity for the national economy to grow, especially developing countries. To clarify, during this period, each nation will receive a lot of investments as well as cooperation from international trade; therefore, they are likely to earn considerable revenues, leading to the rise of the national GDP. Also, globalization can solve the major problem of any society – the unemployment rate. Because of the significant growth in the number of global entrepreneurs, the workforce requires a great number of members; hence, individuals will have more chances to have a better job in the future.

Moreover, this is also a great prospect for the community to learn and develop fully. To explain, as a result of this growth, countries could exchange not only information but also culture, so people can widen their knowledge about the world. Take my country – Viet Nam, as an example. During the globalization period, Vietnamese students are capable of learning different languages such as English, Spanish and German besides their mother tongue, and understanding distinctive cultural identities from those countries, which is quite useful for their future career if they tend to work for multinational enterprises. Finally, globalization helps to share technology with developing nations and make them progress. For example, new digital technologies have been playing an important role in transforming Latin America and elsewhere including big data, GPS, drones, and high-speed communication that have enabled improved extension services.

In conclusion, although I do not deny the downsides of this development that cause concerns like illegal immigration or environmental pollution brought by industrial activities, I still believe that this is definitely a positive phenomenon with numerous advantages it offers.