Life expectancy is rising. What are the causes and effects?

Currently, the increase in the human life span is certainly a topical issue as so many nations are seeing this pattern. From my perspective, there are two main causes and two key impacts, which I will outline now.

First of all, the main cause is probably the improvement in living standards. For example, since the Industrial Revolution and the following advances in science and technology, a myriad of jobs have been created. Therefore, people can earn income and gain better access to consume fine food, housing, sanitation and health care, resulting in the eradication of problems relating to poverty such as not eating well and having clean water.

The other factor that brings about the situation is the enhancement of medical care. As a result of significant progress, vaccines to cure fatal diseases like polio and smallpox, or medicine to cure HIV have been produced. Moreover, effective treatments for the well-being of infants in their early years including vaccination and providing nutritious diets have led to less illness when they enter adulthood.

However, the effects of increased life expectancy can be quite devastating. For one thing, there will be a lack of a qualified workforce. Due to the ageing population, productivity cannot be raised to contribute to the economy of a nation. If a country wants to boost production and compete with others, it must have a skilled labour force with excellent health and a brilliant mind to cope with the excessive workload. The other point I would like to mention is the exorbitant fund to cater for the elderly. To illustrate, the government in any country always has pension plans for subsidizing retired workers. Hence, if there is a high proportion of them, the authority may not offer benefits to all. Consequently, economic stagnation is inevitable since there will not be enough money to invest in other fields such as industry, science and education.

In conclusion, the causes of this phenomenon are primarily to do with the rise in living standards of the public and the advancement of medical care; the effects mainly involve in terms of economy. Thus, it is recommended that policymakers should raise the retirement age in order for elderly people to devote their intelligence and expertise to society while they are still working, which could reduce the financial burden.