Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, there is a controversial issue whether the main cause to learn a new language is for travelling and working abroad or there are a variety of reasons to study new languages. From my perspective, I agree with the latter, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, some people explain that to start a new hobby is why they learn new languages. For example, when they speak a new dialect arousing their interest, they feel fascinated and choose to learn that language as a recreational activity in their free time. The other factor that motivates individuals to study a foreign language is to gain perspective about the world. For one thing, culture has a strong connection with language. For those who learn extra languages, apart from their mother tongue, can find the differences in the cultural aspects between other nations and theirs. Therefore, learning new languages is one of the ways to explore new cultures.

On the other hand, I believe that language is also a means to offer people an opportunity to travel and work abroad. There is no doubt that language learning will bring various benefits for those who seek to work in another country. In modern life, where multinational companies require employees to have a good command of languages in order to communicate with international counterparts, bilingual and multilingual ones are able to be appointed to work overseas. The other purpose that language acquisition serves is travelling. To clarify, while monolingual travellers could not visit different places in the world, visitors who know more than one language are capable of arriving in numerous locations and interacting with local people and culture.

To sum up, there are certain reasons why everyone learns a foreign language in terms of their fascination with languages and local culture, besides travelling and working abroad.