The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Because of technology development, everything has been significantly changed right now, especially the way that people communicate with each other due to the prevalence of social media websites. Some argue that this advancement will bring several benefits, while others say that this trend just impacts adversely on humans. Personally, I believe there are strong views on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, It is clear that social media is the most convenient method to keep in touch with someone, especially for those living apart. To explain, just by using the Internet and accessing apps, such as Messenger or Skype, individuals are able to talk with their beloved ones or even see their face during the conversation. This is very meaningful since they rarely visit their family or friends in reality. Moreover, engaging in online activities is needed in some emergency cases. Take the coronavirus outbreak as an example. To limit the rapid spread of the pandemic, the public is required to stay at home. However, they do not have to stop doing their jobs since working online is an effective way to deal with this problem. For example, there are lots of meetings and classrooms have been organized through social media websites during this time.

On the other hand, social networks contain numerous risks that may affect humans. Firstly, they are likely to lose their personal information while using the Internet. To clarify, everyone tends to publicize private information on social media, so this is a favorable opportunity for cybercriminals to act by stealing the data and using it for illegal purposes such as selling or publicizing on social media again to demand a ransom. Another disadvantage of these sites is that people are liable to be harmed by strangers. To be more specific, social media is a great platform for everybody to make friends; nevertheless, criminals will take advantage of this function to kidnap a person after meeting up with them. According to statistics, adolescents are the main target of this crime on social media for human trafficking.

In conclusion, although social media sites have the potential to bring people closer together and are helpful in unpleasant situations, the public must be aware of the issues that may be caused by these sites. Therefore, they should defend themselves by not uploading any personal information as well as making friends with strangers online, thereby protecting themselves while enjoying using social media.