Some people say that modern technology has made shopping today easier, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that with the advent of technology, shopping has become an easier task, while others believe that it creates some disadvantages. This essay discusses both sides of this argument, and then I will give my own perspective.

Modern technology, on the one hand, helps the public save time and enjoy the pleasure of shopping. Take the Internet as a prime example. Many online shopping platforms offer rapid delivery services, and with a few clicks, customers are able to choose the goods they want and wait for them to be delivered to their house. Compared to the traditional method that individuals travel to local stores to shop around and search for the needed commodities, technological developments have simplified the time-consuming task for them. The other advantage that cutting-edge technology brings in terms of shopping is contactless payment, in other words, the use of mobile money and credit cards. At present, e-payment is enjoying unprecedented popularity with various commercial transactions being conducted on a regular basis. Even if their smartphones or cards is stolen, the data security method would prevent their sensitive information from being intruded upon.

Alongside the aforementioned benefits, some disadvantages are inherent in such an innovation. One of the most common ones could be seen in cybercrime. According to statistics, many frauds have happened owing to criminals acting as sellers and finding any ways to make shoppers transfer money to them. As a result, they will receive nothing or the product that they haven’t ordered before. In a worse scenario, the information about banking and business trading that has been given could be exposed by hackers trying to sell these data.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that both sides of the argument have their merits. On balance, however, it seems that modern technology seems to have not made shopping safer. This is because it is an ideal tool for criminals to act and cause negative consequences regarding privacy and financial threats. Therefore, the public should be aware of potential dangers while buying online.