Some people say that modern technology has made shopping today easier, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that with the advent of technology, shopping has become an easier task to do, while others believe that it creates some disadvantages. From my perspective, this occurrence has both positives and negatives in equal measure.

Modern technology, on the one hand, helps the public save time and enjoy the pleasure of shopping. Take the Internet as a prime example. These days, lots of online shopping platforms offer rapid delivery services, and with a few clicks, customers are able to choose the goods they want and wait for them to be delivered to their house. Compared to the traditional method that individuals travel to local stores to shop around and search for the needed commodities, technological developments have simplified the time-consuming task for them. The other advantage that cutting-edge technology brings in terms of shopping is contactless payment, in other words, the use of mobile money and credit cards. At present, shopping without real cash is enjoying unprecedented popularity with various commercial transactions are conducted. By this way of purchasing, buyers no longer have to bring real money with them and they could avoid being robbed by thieves. Even if their smartphone or card is stolen, the data security method would prevent their sensitive information from being intruded upon.

Alongside the aforementioned benefits, some disadvantages are inherent in such an innovation. One of the most common ones could be seen in cybercrime. According to statistics, many frauds have happened owing to criminals acting as if they are selling products and find any ways to make shoppers transfer money to them. As a result, they will receive nothing or the product that they haven’t ordered before. In a worse scenario, the information about banking and business trading that has been given could be exposed by hackers trying to sell these data.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that modern technology has been a great assistant for everyone in making shopping more time-saving and convenient, but it’s also an ideal tool for criminals to act and cause negative consequences regarding privacy and financial threats. Therefore, the public should be aware of potential dangers while buying online.