In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, there is a source of controversy whether investing money into building new railway lines for fast trains between cities is more essential than that into renewing existing public transport or not. From my perspective, there are strong views on both sides, which I will outline now.

On the one hand, environmental issues might partly reduce once governments allocate money for improving public transport. For one thing, installing cutting-edge technology such as air conditioners and applying clean energy like electricity for public transit will appeal to people as it is modern, pollution-free and comfortable for passengers. Instead of using private cars, therefore, people have a tendency to use public transport frequently, which can limit the excessive amount of carbon emission from vehicles. Moreover, compared with constructing railways, upgrading current public transportation system does not cost much time. Workers, for instance, spend at least two years on building railway line for trains, while it just takes around three months to upgrade a bus.

On the other hand, many argue that significant sums of money are needed for installing new train railway lines between cities. It seems true that trains may reduce the long distance between metropolises, carry extra goods and passengers as well as save time more effectively than conventional road transport system. The other reason is that rail communication is environmentally friendly. According to research, the amount of carbon footprint released from trains is less than that of private vehicles by 80%. If individuals opt for trains, there would be fewer vehicles on roads, thereby cutting CO2 emissions. However, it requires additional labor workforce and money to have train railway lines done.

To sum up, I believe that money contributed to improve public transport should be more prioritized than building new railway lines for fast trains between cities, for it is more time-saving, cost-effective and it also helps to cut environmental pollution.