People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world.

What are the reasons for this and how can people learn more about the natural world?

Currently, humans do not know specifically about the necessity of the ecosystem, which is essential for their survival. There are several reasons for this, but also a number of measures that we can take.

First of all, maybe people understand that the environment needs preserving, but as it can bring about financial benefits, they neglect that thinking and just care about the short-term benefits instead of the long-term ones. Therefore, people exploit all the natural resources, which provides them high revenues to increase their profits. Take logging, as an example, forests and jungles, known as the lungs of the Earth, are being destroyed heavily now for trading since this is a high-income industry. As a result, many natural disasters having an adverse effect on the life of humans occur, such as soil erosion or severe floods. The other cause is that despite being taught how important nature is, people still do not have the awareness of protecting it. For instance, some individuals deliberately throw litter on the streets and beaches, hunt wild animals illegally and dump toxic waste into the seas by design. This results in the presence of plastic in the oceans, the extinction of rhinos and the death of marine creatures.

However, to lessen the problem, the main idea is that governments and the public must join hands together. Policymakers should launch some propaganda campaigns to raise the awareness of their people, but those plans need to suit different age brackets. To illustrate, as for kids and youngsters, the message can be conveyed through vivid videos and real illustrations, including animations or stories on television about how important the ecosystem is and what the repercussions are if the natural world is kept on being polluted. As for adults, authorities should issue strict regulations about protecting the environment. Take Singapore, as an example, anyone who lets garbage on the roads will be fined for $10. Consequently, everyone will realize and pay more attention to the dangers threatening the planet now: global warming, natural depletion and so on. They should stop polluting the Earth and reuse whatever they can instead of throwing away.

In conclusion, the major causes of this occurrence are primarily to do with human’s greed and ignorance. To address this, social campaigns are effective methods to provide everybody with basic knowledge of environmental problems.