Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, there is a controversial issue whether the disappearance of particular species of plants and animals is the most important problem or there are still more environmental difficulties we need to overcome . From my perspective, I agree with the latter, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, major concerns in terms of the environment , especially water or air pollution , are occurring constantly without specific solutions to tackle. In modern life , a great number of industrial factories not only release carbon footprint into the air but also contaminate water bodies by discharging directly the waste disposal into rivers but not through waste treatment systems . Consequently, these pose threats to both the public and the environment. According to health surveys, for example, scientists point out that the number of people suffering from lung cancer due to air pollution is three times as high as that of smoking. The other best example of polluting water is that in 2016, Formosa, a Chinese factory manufacturing metals in Vietnam, killed vast marine creatures with toxic chemicals by releasing them into the river.

On the other hand, I believe that flora and fauna disappearance can also negatively impact on the ecosystem . For one thing, there is a balance in nature where animals are dependent on each other for food. Therefore, an animal population can become extinct when its prey population goes down too far, and owing to the lack of food sources, the population of the predator may also die, leading to the loss of both animals. The other adverse consequence is that because of the animals and plants extinction, biodiversity has been damaged and humans cannot preserve, breed rare animals and conduct research on natural vegetation to find medicine to cure life-threatening diseases.

To sum up, I feel that with the aforementioned damage, other environmental issues such as water and air pollution, besides the loss of animals and plants, need paying more attention to. However, we should not neglect the latter as well.