Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Despite the disadvantages being perceptible, the advantages of students studying foreign languages at school override by virtue of some rational reasons.

Admittedly, there are some transparent drawbacks of studying foreign language at primary school. First and foremost, it can delay language development. This is because childrens may have language delays if confusion is not controlled and it will affect their competencies related to the foreign language and their mother tongue. Further and even more importantly, it may lead to confusion. The fact is that having children learn a foreign language at primary school may lead to confusion in acquiring a native language. Because some children are still learning or in the process of establishing their native-tongue at this point in their life.

Notwithstanding these aforementioned negative aspects, the merits do not pale in comparison. One of them is that primary children are more enthusiastic about learning than adults. The explanation lies in the fact that children are more enthusiastic than adults in terms of learning new things. Another point to discuss is that children are more likely to retain a native-like accent when learning a foreign language at an early age. Children are more likely to attain native-like accents than adult learners. If they get exposed to a foreign language enough, they are likely going to absorb it.

All in all, there is no doubt that there are some particular disadvantages of learning a foreign language at an early age.