Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that it is better for students to begin learning a foreign language at primary school than secondary school. Although there are some particular disadvantages, the benefits of students learning a foreign language in elementary school are overshadowed for a number of reasons.

Admittedly, there are some transparent drawbacks of learning foreign languages in primary school. First and foremost, it makes children confused about many things. This is because children at this age often learn foreign languages, which will make them confused when learning in their mother tongue. Another reason is that learning a foreign language requires children to do many demanding tasks such as learning a new language which can cause cognitive overload or overwhelm children.Furthermore, and more importantly, learning a foreign language can slow down the child's language development process, leading to language disorders or language confusion. In fact, learning a foreign language causes children to lose most of their time learning their mother tongue. Children will lack words in communication and have to borrow words from other languages. As a result, they will experience serious consequences in communication.

Despite the aforementioned negative aspects, the values do not pale in comparison. One of them is that children are more enthusiastic than adults. The reason lies in this stage, children are more open, receptive to new things and want to go to school every day. Another point to discuss is that children may have a competitive edge in learning. This could explain that they may have stronger skills, creativity, and working memory. Take my friend for example. He was taught foreign languages in elementary school and he said he learned many good things about languages. As a result, his reading skills are more advanced than those of his monolingual peers.

Overall, although there are some perceived advantages, the disadvantages of learning a foreign language still need to be considered.