Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that people live in overseas countries with language barriers leading to a lot of issues such as integrating into community, daily activities. I partly agree with this opinion for some reasons which are outlined in this essay.

On the one hand, I understand why some people think that living abroad can be easy and have no challenges. The first reason worth mentioning is there are more applications which support users to translate languages. Google Translate, for example, is the most popular application in the world, it helps translate a language to others with a click. In addition, some people who are good adaptive will be likely to learn new language faster. If they have good communication skills, they will participate actively in social activities. After that they learn new knowledge and improve language skills.

However, I hold a belief that there are variety of difficulties when living abroad. Firstly, daily activities will have some problems, especially for introvert people who lack of communication skills or technological skills. It is hard to read direction boards, talk with locals and so on. For instance, shopping, when you go to the supermarket, you have to read label products by foreign language, it is so hard to choose things you want. Furthermore, when participating in social activities, it will be difficult in communication because you cannot use mother language and just use body language.

To conclude, it cannot be denied that technology helps people get out of language trouble when living abroad, I am of opinion that it can lead to several social issues and practical issues.