Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that a company, nowadays, should give employees to wear uniform when they work at the workplace, whilst others think that the working productivity is appreciated instead of their appearance. This essay will look into both sides of the argument and provide some supports to the latter view.

On the one hand, I understand why some organisations think that their workers should have formal clothing. Firstly, the appearance of employees can affect to company’s revenue. When sellers represent for a company to sell and wear smartly, their customers will feel that it is a professional organization and have a good seeing about their products. As a result, revenue increases remarkably by sold more products. The second reason worth mentioning is showing for everyone to know the core value of a corporation. Vietnam Airlines, for instance, is a company in Viet Nam that is famous for safest and luxury airline. They have a uniform which is the Ao Dai with sky blue color, when they go to other nations, foreigners can see the traditions of Viet Nam through Ao Dai and the peace, the safe through blue color.

However, many feel that the performance of employee is more important than visual. The first reason is besides appearance, the experience of employee also plays an important role in the company. If staffs cannot resolve problems, they will not gain more money for their company even they have good visual in front of clients. In addition, some clothes make employees uncomfortable when they perform the work. When you wear the uniform, your spirit will be proud of it but in terms of physical you have uneasy feelings such as hot, tight or cumbersome, it is also a negative effect and impacts directly to the quality of work. Therefore, you can not do anything which helps company rising turnover if you do not have high value in an organization.

In conclusion, although it cannot be denied that dressing smartly brings potential benefits, I am of opinion that the performance of employees is the most important because of its roles in a company.