A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income Unfortunately tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the world

Nowadays, tourism has become one of the main contributors to the revenue of several countries. Despite the various benefits that tourism provides, there are also a few drawbacks. However, from my perspective, I strongly believe that the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will discuss the negative and positive aspects of tourism.

There are two main drawbacks gained from this issue. First and foremost, it is true that tourism can adversely affect the natural environment . To illustrate, many visitors discharge garbage, plastic bottles, and other waste products into the environment such as streets, tourist places, and especially on the rivers and beaches. This can lead to the pollution of water or air and damage to the environment of local dwellers’ lives. Furthermore, it has been shown that the more tourists with a lot of money and carry something extravagant such as jewelry, and smartphones, the more the rate of crime increases, for example, robbery, bag-snatchers, and pickpockets.

On the other hand, I believe that tourism provides more benefits. Firstly, it helps to boost a country’s economy. For instance, tourists will have to spend a huge amount of money on their accommodation, transport, and food. Thus, the government generates a significant portion of revenue through tourism. Additionally, tourism also contributes to creating job opportunities in the service industry including hotels, amusement parks, transportation, restaurants, and other services for locals.

In conclusion, the tourism industry has some downsides like affecting the environment, but it does not overshadow the beneficial impacts on the economy of the country.