A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

There is much debate around the fact that tourism plays an important role in increasing income in many places. However, it also brings lots of problems that need to be addressed effectively. I firmly hold the view that the drawbacks pale in comparison with the benefits that this trend provides.

On the one hand, there are several downsides of tourism that people should take into consideration. First and foremost, tourism can have a negative impact on the environment in the regions tourists visit. It can be explained by the fact that careless people usually throw waste products indiscriminately without hesitation in public areas such as on the road or in the park. As a result, the significant growth in the number of tourists annually has been accompanied by an increase of garbage. Another compelling reason is that tourism can do harm to the natural habitat in this place. For instance, the government can cut down trees to construct a gorgeous new building with the aim of attracting more tourists, which means that the green space will be reduced more.

On the other hand, despite the drawbacks given above, I believe the advantages are more significant. The primary rationale is tourism has brought lots of money to local people. This is because residents will have more chances to do business like selling their products to visitors. As a result, not only does tourism provide jobs for dwellers but it also helps this area to boost its economic growth. Furthermore, tourism can help the destination be more famous. To illustrate, if visitors come there, the locals can introduce their cuisines, beautiful sceneries, or even cultural traits to others. Consequently, more and more people will know about this place because of its reputation.

In conclusion, in spite of some disadvantages mentioned above, it seems to me that they are far outweighed by the benefits it brings to those places.