machine learning

Nowadays applications of data science and digitalization especially Machine Learning (ML) has increased speedily in all of sections and sciences. There are several relevant reasons for developing ML includes:

- Sufficient experimental data has been provided in the recent years

- Power of hardware and software computational infrastructures has increased

- And the applications of intelligent systems are in development

In my opinion environment model-free is one of the important opportunities of ML caused we don’t need to have the details of model. This property is much appropriated for complex and unknown systems.

I think reinforcement learning (RL), as the one of the important techniques of ML, is so robust and we can utilize mentioned techniques for process system modeling and control. Dynamic Programming and Monte Carlo are most-known methods in RL. These methods proceed their learning according to exploring and exploiting. As the matter of fact, mentioned methods act as the Black Box (BB) and improve their actions policies only based experiences. It is obvious that learner should spend adequate time for learning. In contrast, Grey Box (GB) is the combination of black box and physical models. It’s to be noted that it’s not necessary to know the whole details of the physical models and it is possible to achieve the best result according to experience and limited information of the physical models.