Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology To what extent do you agree or disagree

Citizens have sparked off an argument over information technology, in which it is believed to replace traditional libraries due to financial reasons. While I accept that technological advancements play a pivotal role in reading, I believe that public reading space should be maintained.

On the one hand, technological breakthroughs in computer are considered more efficient than casual libraries due to two major reasons. To begin with, digitalized libraries provide citizens with a higher accessibility. Indeed, since data is entirely computerized and displayed on website or social media, residents can look up their essential materials, regardless of improper time or long distance. In addition, it is safe to say that applying information technology, libraries become more financially effective. Specifically, in computerized libraries, employees are superseded by machines and automatic procedures, and this may help reduce maintenance cost thanks to a smaller labor dimension.

On the other hand, the preservation of traditional libraries also exerts certain positive impacts, especially on readers. Particularly, in casual public reading locations, citizens can immerse themselves in an academic space and totally focus on their printed materials, which were proved to result in a more productive perception, compared to using computerized ones. For example, a recent survey conducted among British adolescents reveals that 70% of total population had a better grasp of a certain topic when they read paper books rather than electronic data. In other words, not only do traditional libraries merely provide residents with sufficient resources but also create an environment conducive for study and research. By contrast, if readers entirely rely on e-books, their concentration may waiver due to other available online contents, leading to a less efficient study.